Drostdy first school through to 2018 Schools 7s Championships

HTS Drostdy secured their position in the Schools 7s Championships after defeating New Orleans 31-10 in their Boland Provincial final on Saturday afternoon. 

On Satruday 25 Agust, the first U/17 school sevens Provincial round took place as Boland looked to crown a champion. Twenty-four schools took part in four pools of six. 

Drostdy topped ther pool without conceding a single point, before facing Overberg in the quarter-finals, where they won comfortably, 33-19. In the semi-finals they cruised past Klein Nederburg to win 36-10, before capping off the afternoon with a 31-10 win over New Orleans, who were also undefeated en route to the final.

Schools who did not show: Noorder Paarl (Group A), Steynville (Group A), Cloetesville (Group B) and Esselen Park (Group C)

HTS Drostdy 40-0 De Villiers Graaf
HTS Drostdy 36-0 Skurweberg
HTS Drostdy 38-0 Langeberg
De Villiers Graaf 17-0 Skurweberg
De Villiers Graaf 10-19 Langeberg
Skurweberg 0-41 Langeberg

New Orleans 24-5 Swartberg
Bergrivier 0-22 New Orleans
New Orleans 31-12 Overberg
New Orleans 36-0 Worcester Secondary
Swartberg 5-24 Bergrivier
Swartberg 20-19 Overberg
Swartberg 5-17 Worcester Secondary
Bergrivier 10-22 Overberg
Bergrivier 12-21 Worcester Secondary
Overberg 7-5 Worcester Secondary

Klein Nederburg 17-14 Charlie Hofmeyer
Klein Nederburg 24-14 Hugenote
Klein Nederburg 22-14 Bredasdorp
Klein Nederburg 35-5 Louwville
Hugenote 12-15 Charlie Hofmeyer
Charlie Hofmeyer 14-17 Bredasdorp
Charlie Hofmeyer 29-7 Louwville
Hugenote 24-21 Bredasdorp
Hugenote 15-12 Louwville

Paulus Joubert 7-31 Swartland
Paulus Joubert 5-40 Hermanus
Paulus Joubert 5-12 Hopefield
Paulus Joubert 0-36 HTS Drostdy B
Paulus Joubert 0-22 Dirkie Uys
Swartland 17-17 Hermanus
Swartland 14-31 Hopefield
Swartland 20-26 HTS Drostdy B
Swartland 24-5 Dirkie Uys
Hermanus 12-19 Hopefield
Hermanus 12-17 HTS Drostdy B
Hermanus 43-12 Dirkie Uys
Hopefield 17-26 HTS Drostdy B
Hopefield 21-5 Dirkie Uys
HTS Drostdy 24-7 Dirkie Uys

HTS Drostdy 33-29 Overberg
Hopefield 14-19 Klein Nederburg
Charlie Hofmeyer 24-17 HTS Drostdy B
New Orleans 22-5 Langeberg

New Orleans 38-5 Charlie Hofmeyer
HTS Drostdy 36-10 Klein Nederburg

HTS Drostdy 31-10 New Orleans

The Schools 7s Championships will take place on 5 and 6 October, where the 15 Provincial U/17 winners will all compete to be crowned the top sevens school team in the country.
A number of tournaments, including the Schools 7s Championships, will be streamed live on the DStv Now app.

Click here for all the fixtures.