SASN Schools Championships goes bigger and better in 2019

Following a successful debut of the SASN Schools Championships in 2018, this year’s second edition ­– sponsored by Twizza and KeyHealth Medical Scheme – will be bigger and better.

The SASN Secondary Schools Championships will take place from 19-21 July at Hoërskool Dr. E.G. Jansen, with a new Primary Schools’ version happening the following weekend at the same venue in Boksburg.

The expanded Secondary Schools Championships will showcase the best netball talent in the Under-14, -16, -17 and -19 age groups. Only the last of those took place in 2018. On that note, the number of Under-19 teams taking part this year has more than trebled from 12 to 39. They all qualified via provincial tournaments earlier in the year, and the significant fact is that the inaugural tournament winners Menlopark will not be back to defend their title. Runners-up Afrikaanse Hoër Meisieskool Pretoria (AHMP) will be, and they will perhaps start as favourites to become the new champions.

Last year’s tournament saw eight teams in the Batho first division play in a round robin format, with the four in the Ubuntu development division playing straight knockout. However, the rise in teams has necessitated a change and the action will take place across eight groups. The 13 Ubuntu teams will also play in these groups, among the Batho teams, but will then split off for their own playoffs stage.

Apart from AHMP (Gauteng), Hoërskool Sentraal (Free State), Hoërskool Ben Vorster (Limpopo), Hoër Tegniese Skool Middelburg (Mpumalanga) and Hoërskool Zwartkop (Gauteng) have experience of last year’s tournament and will want to make that count this time around.

In the Ubuntu division, Manzomthombo Secondary School (Western Cape) and Machakela-Mamodibo Secondary School (North-West) return. They played in the 2018 Ubuntu Final, with Manzomthombo emerging victorious 30-15.

The 2019 SASN Schools Netball Championships Under-19 teams, by group, are as follows:

A: *Edmund Rice School, Hoërskool Generaal Hertzog, Hoërskool Kempton Park, *Machakela-Mamodibo Secondary School, Paarl Gimnasium

B: *Azwifarwi Secondary School, Hoërskool Duineveld, Hoërskool Framesby, *Masibambane Secondary School, Hoërskool Noordheuwel

C: Diamantveld Hoërskool, *Modilati Secondary School, Nhlanhlayethu Secondary School, Hoër Meisieskool Oranje, *OR Tambo Comprehensive School

D: *Lehana Senior Secondary School, *Phahama Secondary School, Hoër Volkskool Potchefstroom, Hoërskool Sentraal, Shayamoya High School

E: Goudveld Hoërskool, *Idlangamabala Secondary School, *Nqabara Senior Secondary School, Hoërskool Rustenburg, Stellenberg High School

F: Afrikaanse Hoër Meisieskool Pretoria, Hoërskool Eldoraigne, Curro Heuwelkruin Independent School, *Mashishing Secondary School, Potchefstroom Gimnasium

G: Hoërskool Ben Vorster, Ligbron Academy of Technology, *Manzomthombo Secondary School, Pearson High School, Hoërskool Waterkloof

H: Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof, *Khumosejo Senior Secondary School, Hoër Tegniese Skool Middelburg, Hoërskool Zwartkop

*Ubuntu teams